Wednesday, June 22, 2011

House Speaker Names Members To Joint Legislative Marcellus Study Group

House Speaker Rick Thompson has appointed five members of the W.Va. House of Delegates to serve on the Legislature’s Select Committee on Marcellus Shale. Thompson designated Delegate Tim Manchin, D-Marion, as the chairman. Other members of the committee will include: Delegate Barbara Fleischauer, D-Monongalia; Delegate Tom Campbell, D-Greenbrier; Delegate Woody Ireland, R-Ritchie; and Delegate Bill Anderson, R-Wood.

The state Senate's members were named June 18.

The joint Senate-House working group will seek to develop consensus legislation on regulations and permit fees for Marcellus Shale drilling and production.